Emerging Practitioner in Clay Award

The Rick Rudd Foundation invites entries for the $10,000 Emerging Practitioner in Clay Award. Entries close 30 June 2018.

The Trustees of the Rick Rudd Foundation are pleased to announce the inaugural Emerging Practitioner in Clay Award.

Entries are invited for the inaugural award from those practitioners yet to achieve widespread recognition in ceramics within New Zealand or overseas.  This event has been set up to encourage, foster and promote excellence by those emerging makers of studio ceramics in all forms, from tableware to sculpture and from traditional to the avant-garde.

The judges will select approximately 50 finalists from the entries submitted. These finalists will be invited to send ONE work which the entrant identifies as the work they wish to send for exhibition. Sets and multiple works are acceptable but large installations will not be accepted due to space restrictions.

$10,000 will be awarded to one entrant selected by the trustees, studio potter, Rick Rudd - ceramic artist and co-owner of Rayner Brothers Gallery, Paul Rayner and Tom Seaman - IT consultant and art collector with a focus on ceramics.

Important Dates

Entries close 4pm Saturday 30 June 2018
Finalists advised by Tuesday 31 July 2018 
Last day for exhibition works to arrive at Quartz 4pm Wednesday 15 August 2018 
Awards announced Monday 24 September 2018 
Exhibition at Quartz from 25 September 2018 to 31 March 2019

For further information visit the Quartz Museum website.